Question

What's the best PC I should buy that can run 100+ programs?

Hi, newbie here. I'm looking to get a PC that can run around 96-128 instances of the same program at once. My current build (Windows 10 i7-4790k @ 4.00 GHZ, 24GB of RAM, Geforce GTX 750 Ti graphics.) currently can only run 24 instances, up from 16 when I upgraded my RAM from 8 to 24GB. Do I need a processor with more cores?
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: What's the best PC I should buy that can run 100+ programs?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: What's the best PC I should buy that can run 100+ programs?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Answer
I'm going to track this one.

Since even the usual quad core with HT is only 8 uninterrupted threads, I'd like to find such a PC today. For now I spread the load across a fleet of compute servers.

Let's see what you find that has it all in one box. Yes there are server racks but I think you are after something else here.

- Collapse -
Answer
Just curious

What happens when you try to run the 25th instance?

- Collapse -
It stops working properly

They will slowly start to lag/crash. The more I add the worst it gets.

- Collapse -
This was a known thing with SETI, Boinc, etc.