Cameras forum

General discussion

What would you do?

I would like some opinions on which DSLR to purchase. I am somewhat familiar with photograpy principles, but I am relatively new to the DSLR world. The camera would mostly be used to take pictures of my small kids with some travel/landscape type photography thrown in too.

Here's what I'm leaning towards right now. I'm either going to buy a Canon Rebel XT (yes, I know it is discontinued) or a Rebel XTi. With the Rebel XT, I would just purchase the body and then add a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens.

If I buy the Rebel XTi, I would only be able to afford the stock lens kit, which is the EF-S 18-55 mm Lens.

So, a few questions:

1. Is there a difference between two lenses I'm considering? Does one have image stabilization while the other does not?

2. What would you do given the situation?

3. If you don't like either option, please suggest another set up that runs between 500-700 dollars.

Thanks for your input.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What would you do?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: What would you do?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.