Question

What type of network should I set up?

I live in a college where I have no administrative access to the wireless router that is set up in my hall. In my own room I have a desktop (wired only) a laptop and a tablet. I am trying to set up a network within my own room for my three devices. I have two routers, one of which can function as a bridge, repeater, or in station-infrastructure mode. However, after many hours and trying all the options, I do not seem to be able to get the setup working. What I am trying to do is have the router with many options pick up the wireless signal from the college's AP. I want it to pass that on (wired) to a regular router, which will then distribute it to my devices (particularly to my desktop). Any suggestions as to what setting my router should be set up as or if this type of set-up is even possible (attaching a second bridge to the college's AP is impossible because, as a student, I do not have administrative access)?

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: What type of network should I set up?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: What type of network should I set up?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Clarification Request
Diagram for clarification
- Collapse -
Keep in mind that