General discussion

What to do when Nortons cannot delete a file?

I ran a scan and I had 1 file detected as an adware threat. I deleted it but it said it failed. I restarted my computer and ran a 2nd scan. Now 2 files we detected, I then tried to delete and it failed again. I know a lot of trojans multiply after restarts so I assume that is what happened.

Here is my question. I then ran a scan in Ad-Aware and Spybot Search and Destroy and deleted everything that came up (had 6 files in Ad-Aware and none in Spybot. I ran Ad-Aware first.) I then ran Nortons again and the same 2 files came up and they could not be deleted.

I then restarted again and ran Nortons Scan and the same 2 came back (it didn't multiply this time.) BTW I cleared my cookies and Cache since the time I rebooted. I clicked on the Threat Name in Nortons and it took me to their site. I followed their instructions for removal. I went into the registry (I have some experience with deleting things in there, I got rid of DSO Exploit this way by myself, lol I took pride in it for a newbie.) And when I follow the tabs/paths in the registry to get to the keys they say to delete, I get to the end and those files arent in the folders they say they are.

Did I get rid of them in Ad-Aware? Are the Adware files still on my computer somewehre? I wish I could give you the names and stuff, but I am at work and don't have them with me. I will paste them on here when I get home.

Any help or advice? Thanks.

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: What to do when Nortons cannot delete a file?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: What to do when Nortons cannot delete a file?