Question

What to do?

Hi everyone, This is my first time using Mac. I used PC til Vista then migrated to PCLOS Linux. A local school that is closing gave me 11 IMAC computers. Two of them are completely dead. The others will load to a blinking "?". I suspected the drives were wiped clean or no good. I checked them all and found them all to be bad. Then they gave me an EMAC which was dead also but I found the drive to be good. I installed the EMAC drive in one of the IMACs and it booted to OS 10.4.6. I installed 512 megs of PC133 in it. The problem is that it is sooooo slow. It takes forever to close and open windows. Drags something fierce. Is it possible that this 500 mhz IMAC isn't supposed to have OS X on it thus making it slow. Maybe 9? I have three OS 9 disks but they won't boot while holding the "C" key down at startup. Looks like they might work to downgrade.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: What to do?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: What to do?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Answer
I'll bet the school was glad to find someone who would take

those slow machines off their hands.
It is almost certain that those iMac's are the PPC variety and have the CRT screen. Yes??

- Collapse -
what to do