Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

What is System Restore, backing up,,,? Do I need to?

(Note: I am a high beginner/intermediate computer user, so not-too-complex responses would be appreciated!)

1) On my Windows XP Home computer, under System Properties, under the ?System Restore? tab it shows that system restore is not turned off and it is set to the ?max? level. I use my computer in what I?d call a moderate way ? internet browsing, e-mail, Word documents, and digital photo work. I do regular Disk Cleanups and Defragments and regular Anti-Virus and Spyware scans. I have not had any problems with this computer since I bought it two or so years ago. I recently read on the internet about ?restore points?. It seems like my computer is set to create these automatically for me (with the settings I described). So, I assume that I don?t really need to create any restore points (since Windows is doing this for me) and if I happen to run into a problem I would then simply chose a day (for example today?s date) to make a restore to; is this correct? And then my Windows files and such would pretty much be resorted to what they are today?

2) I?ve heard, but am not real clear on, ?backing up my computer?. It seems that this System Restore process is backing up my Windows system for me, so I don?t need to do a backup (except of my documents, Mp3s, photos); is this basically correct?

3) Final question: This restore, I assume, would not change in any way my documents, MP3s, photos ? they would remain as they were; is this correct?

Thank you in advance for any ideas and suggestions.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: What is System Restore, backing up,,,? Do I need to?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates