Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

want two domain names to go to same website

I would like two domain names to be interchangeable. In other words, if the browser inserts one domain name in URL box it will refer to the same website as the other (and possibly change to the original domain name). How do I set this up?

And do you know of any web hosts that provide two different domain names for the price of one?

Thanks. I'm new to this.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: want two domain names to go to same website
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: want two domain names to go to same website
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: want two domain names to go to same website

In reply to: want two domain names to go to same website

There are two steps to this, maybe less. The name that goes into the URL is resolved by the DNS (sorry, but you must know DNS and URL and I will not explain what a DNS is.)