HolidayBuyer's Guide

PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Want to build my own mini pc, but I'm a newb

by glowell / August 1, 2010 10:14 AM PDT

I want to build a micro tower desktop for under or up to $300.00

All I need it to do would be the following: Microsoft Office, E-mail, surf the web, listen to music, skype, But I can get a webcam on my own, aim, and stream videos. I do not care for that hdmi and hd stuff. Vga is fine for my purposes.

Is it possible to do that up to $350.00

If so...can someone please help me with the parts I need? Or should look at.

I only need a 160gb hard drive max. I don't have that many or plan on having that many files. I also have a portable hard drive for the matter. I just don't always wan't to use my laptop.

Also, idnc if its intel or amd nor do I care about the mother board and all that stuff. As long as I can do all that stuff smoothly I am happy. And also be a micro tower. I do prefer a micro tower case as I said before.

The monitor I can get on my own and a usb wireless network adapter as well. Also, I'd like usb 2.0 ports. Bluetooth is not necessary nor is firewire necessary.

If someone can give me a price quote for the hardware I would need to spend to make this possible, that be great.

Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Want to build my own mini pc, but I'm a newb
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.