Computer Help forum

General discussion

Vista/XP Downgrade Woes

So here's the story.

My friend was tired of having Vista on her laptop, so I decided to let her borrow my XP Home disk, and I did a clean install. I should of did a backup but I didn't have the sufficient space to dump the files in and she didn't care. I'm not an expert on these things but I know my basics. Apparently she can't access the internet anymore because she messaged me on another computer. I'm just guessing that the clean install wiped out the drivers/programs for her wireless modem/etc. Am I right in saying this?

I don't have the pure details as it isn't my computer, but if anyone could set me a couple guidelines on how to get these necessities back, it'd be much appreciated.

Thanks.

If this thread is in an inappropriate section, please feel free to move it.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Vista/XP Downgrade Woes
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Vista/XP Downgrade Woes
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.