Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Vista- pages fade/ non responding message

by geralda / May 7, 2010 11:42 AM PDT

I have a Dell Inspiron 1505 laptop with Vista Home Basic. I have been having the following problem:
Whenever I try to view: e-mail, Word, or various webpages,suddenly the screen becomes faded and it says "not responding". Sometimes if I wait a minute or so it will start responding again. Other times I have to shut off the computer and begin again.

I have tried the following:
-Gone through an entire Symantic antivirus scan which is ok
-Removed temporary files
-Reduced Web history to 1 week
-Removed Cookies
-Checked disc for consistency
-Defragmented my computer

Unfortunately all to no avail.
Someone said that I should change the register but I am a computer novice and am very nervous about doing this.

I would appreciate any help that you can offer.
Thank you.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Vista- pages fade/ non responding message
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Vista- pages fade/ non responding message
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.