HolidayBuyer's Guide

Computer Help forum

General discussion

Virus blocking youtube

by Chemica1 / July 9, 2009 6:18 AM PDT

Hi folks newbie here- had a search but could'nt find my problem so posting here.

I've developed a new problem- one I've never had before. I was on youtube when suddenly an error message caame up telling me I had a virus.. then the website went to a 'restricted site' and told me I had a virus and to check my security settings. I've spent all day running anti virus- first AVG, then when that did not work I uninstalled it tried Avast. No luck either. I've checked all my IE settings, security, restricted sites, reset to default etc.It does the same thing whether I'm on firefox or IE. Now it's beginning to target other sites.Funnily enough it restricted access to a forum site that seemed to be the same problem as mine.. coincidence..? I'm fairly certain it's not my IP.. well I suppose it could be but why so suddenly say I have a virus? Anyway I'm with pipex on 8meg unlimited. I don't download much except for watching youtube vids.

I can access if I go through a proxy server but I dont get the same speedy interface if I do- nor will it display my comments etc so I would like to have my system back!
I'm running Windows XP home edition on a E Sytem laptop, M420 1.6 GHz, 256 MB DDRII , intel 943GM (Calistoga)+ ICH7-M. Using I.E-8 and Firefox.

Help please!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Virus blocking youtube
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates