Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Viewing distance

by Bill Osler / March 18, 2009 12:01 PM PDT

As I noted before I'm a complete newbie at this HDTV stuff.
Right now all I'm getting is standard definition signal.
Before buying I looked at information about suggested viewing distances and such and I looked at screens in a store, but that's really artificial because I don't know what their source quality is and anyway it involves watching for short periods of time. My best guess (maybe wrong) is that for a viewing distance of about 7-9 feet my 52" HDTV LCD screen would give an angle of vision similar to a movie theater, which I thought would be a good thing.
Unfortunately, much of our available cable programming is still standard definition. The set top box upconverts to 1080i but watching standard definition at 8-9 feet is still a bit weird because of upconversion artifact and pixelation.
I'm wondering whether I bought too big a screen. OTOH I haven't been able to test it on any real HDTV material yet.
This is a huge change because I've been watching a 27" standard definition screen at about 7 feet. I wonder if some of the weirdness is just getting used to seeing something larger.
Any suggestions?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Viewing distance
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates