Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Video resolution and CD recording

by laurentmg / June 15, 2007 2:33 PM PDT

I am new to video editing so please bear with me if my questions appear trivial. I own a Canon SD100 and a ZR850. I can shoot movies with my camera on 320x240 and even on 640x480. However it seems that my camcorder cannot shoot higher than 320x240. I thought that miniDV had a much higher resolution. Is the Canon limited to a low video resolution? Is it the same thing with similar cameras?

Anyway, second problem, when I transfer to my computer I can create nice wmv files. When I convert to AVI, the size of the files become unbearably huge. My DVD player cannot read mpeg so I prefer AVI. Is there an explanation why with my camcorder movies (15m 320x240) generate huge AVI files? I used ULead Video Studio to convert files from wmv to AVI.

Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Video resolution and CD recording
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Video resolution and CD recording
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.