Audio & Video Software forum

General discussion

Video editing software/DVD hardware conflicts

I'm new to all this -- Looking to buy a DVD burner (for data backup and other purposes)and an external analog video capture device to transfer 8MM and VCR tapes to DVD.

Should I be concerned about the video capture device's software that converts the tapes to DV conflicting with the software that comes with the DVD burner to edit and burn the file?

Based on what I've read, seems the video capture device's conversion software may dictate what I can use once I've converted the file and moved it to my harddrive. Is that correct? If so, is there a workaround.

thanks JC

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Video editing software/DVD hardware conflicts
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Video editing software/DVD hardware conflicts
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
(NT) (NT) No and no.

In reply to: Video editing software/DVD hardware conflicts

Collapse -