General discussion

VHS to DVD or Mini-DV?

Hi everyone,
I?m rather new to this concept. I?ve somehow built up all the motivation to get all my parent?s camcorder VHS tapes and put them on my computer, and then to DVD. I?ve done some reading up on this, and it seems like it?s a task that I can do and it also seems there are a lot of programs to choose from and different ways this can be done. I was hoping someone on here might recommend the best way, program, etc.

First, my situation ? the camcorder is an early 1990?s model made by Sears Roebuck. I have located a plug on the back that says ?A/V Out?, as I?m guessing this is what I would need to be using.

I also have a Canon ZR-80, which I?ve taken videos off of numerous times. The reason I mention this, is I read (I think) where someone recommended putting the VHS tapes to mini-dv using the ZR-80 first, then putting on the computer using the ZR-80. I am still very new to this, so I was hoping I could get a little advice. Would it be best to put them to mini-dv first, or skip that and put them straight on my computer? Which would be best in terms of quality? It also looks like the software that can handle this varies in price a lot as well. Any thoughts? Thanks!!

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: VHS to DVD or Mini-DV?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: VHS to DVD or Mini-DV?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.