Laptops forum

General discussion

Very Small Portable Laptop vs. PDA

by rw56 / November 16, 2006 4:43 AM PST

Hi everyone,

I need some help, please. I'd love to find a WiFi capable, portable computer in a small and light package. I'd like to be able to do the following:

1) surf the web/do coursework on line/send and receive email--for this reason I'd prefer a reasonably sized screen and keyboard, i.e. a cell phone screen and keyboard are too small.
2) record and listen to music--for this reason portability, light weight and small size would be big pluses. My current music collection is maybe 3000 songs so i'd like to be able to hold maybe 5000 total.
3) manage personal information, e.g. calendar, address books, etc.

Reliability is huge for me. I owned two of the first Palm 3 PDAs and they both crashed, twice each. No more Palms for me.

Any ideas are welcome because I'm very new to MP3, WiFi and such.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Very Small Portable Laptop vs. PDA
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Very Small Portable Laptop vs. PDA
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.