Computer Help forum

General discussion

Vertical lines on screen

by 9C0UR4M / January 25, 2011 11:41 PM PST

Hi everyone. Im new to CNET and in serious need of assistance.

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 920N
Computer: HP Pavilion t3625.uk

Im having problems with my monitor. I was on the Sky Sports website watching a video when it happened. The monitor suddenly got the lines on it, then started turning on and off (everything on screen had frozen except the mouse which I was moving around when the screen would blink on). I restarted the computer manually because I couldnt restart it properly. When it got to the starting screen, there were still lines down it, that distorted the screen, (but not the menu that controlled brightness and that sort of thing) and after this screen usually comes a black screen which says the computer is going to "start windows normally" which usually disappers after, literally, 2 seconds. This screen however was now severly distorted. I could barely make out the start windows normally part. After pressing enter, the computer moved to the Windows XP loading screen, but it wouldnt get any further than this and it would freeze which meant I would have to restart it manually (and now it doesnt even get there, it restarts by itself straight after pressing ennter at the start windows normally screen). My cousin whos pretty good with computers says its a video card issue but Im unsure on what to do. I bought a new VGA cord but the screen was still messed up. I tried hooking my computer up to the TV but it still looked the same. When I disconnect the monitor from the computer, there are no lines and no distortions; everythings normal. I dont think its the fans/the computer over heating because the computer doesnt get hot and fans do work. Im baffled.

Could realllly use some help lol...

PS I also have pictures if it helps...

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Vertical lines on screen