Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Using Windows XP Pro For Web Server

I would like to set-up my own web server using Windows XP Pro. I know IIS comes with the software. I am a novice in this particular area but want to learn. I consider myself technology proficent and can learn quickly. Yes, I know I can hire someone to do the hosting, etc. but you don't learn that way.

My CPU is a AMD Athlon 2800+ with 512MB ram and a 80GB hard drive. I have a DSL with 7MBps up and 876KBps down and 5 static IPs. I also have McAfee Security Center installed which includes Firewall Plus and Virus scan. I also have my own domains. My plan is to host my own website plus 2 others. There will be no e-commerce or anything too heavy duty. So, that's the background stuff.

I need your help and advice on where to get easy step by step best practices to set up the server. A book is good, an online tutorial is good, and a CD Rom is also good. I would rather NOT spend 5 days in a class. At this point I am open to almost anything else. I have looked for a good book but nothing that gives me good step by steps.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Using Windows XP Pro For Web Server
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Using Windows XP Pro For Web Server