Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Using NAS to stream media to ps3 and laptop/what router?

by VooDuuChild / June 21, 2010 8:12 AM PDT

Total networking newbie here. That aside; I have a My Book 2TB World Edition II which I purchased for basically music, videos and pics only. I purchased this one specifically as it said that it would stream videos to my PS3 (and I gotta smokin deal on it). I've read that I'll need to format it to FAT32 (whatever that is) for the PS3 to recognize it. I also want to be able to stream stuff to my laptop wirelessly too. I also don't have high speed internet as it's so expensive where I live (dsl and cable internet not available here) if that matters. What I need is a good/fast router that won't bottleneck when I'm tryin to wirelessly stream to my ps3 (via dlna, whatever that is) and to my laptop. It would also be nice, but not necessary, that it be easy to setup. Also, once the NAS is set to FAT32, will my laptop be able to read it too? I basically am turning the NAS into a media station for all my media needs; just accessed wirelessly....tips, tricks, tips??? Oh yeah, the router will probably be in the same room as the PS3 and one room and wall away from my laptop....until we move, hahaha. Any opinions on good routers for this application? Anyone already doing this with their PS3????

Laptop is an Aspire 5315-2153 on Vista Basic
Intel Celeron processor 530
1.73 GHz, 533 MHz, 1MB L2 Cache
Up to 252MB Mobile Intel GraphicsMedia Accelerator X3100
1GB DDR2
802.11b/g WLAN

PS3 is 80gig fat

NAS is 2TB My Book World Edition II

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Using NAS to stream media to ps3 and laptop/what router?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates