Using Bash Sort Command

by smileydan88 / April 2, 2007 11:44 AM PDT

Hello,

I am new to linux and have a text file that looks like this:

123 234234 one
234 456 two
694 2349 three
etc....

Each of the lines has three specific areas: the first three digits, then a a number with a maximum of six digits, then a word. I am trying to sort this column by the second area, but only display the third column. I know that I will have to use the sort command but I cannot figure out how to get it to work.

Thanks for any help, I'm new!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Using Bash Sort Command
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Using Bash Sort Command
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
use sort(1) and cut(1)
by clsgis / April 2, 2007 3:54 PM PDT