PC Hardware forum

General discussion

USB2 letting me down

by malbow / April 21, 2004 6:02 AM PDT

Hello there, 21st April 2004
I have been trying to install a ?Freecom CLASSIC CD-ROM/CD-RW? but according to my computers System Information there is a problem with the USB 2 port. The message is:- This device has a problem Code=28 [0x1C].
I have been using this hardware for a couple of months without any problems. But then I got a virus. My Windows 98SE was re-formatted which cleared the virus but the CD-ROM/CD-RW will not re-install. I inserted the Floppy in the ?A? drive slot as per the instructions but nothing at all happened.
The computer is a CentaurHauls x86 Family6 model 7 stepping 1.
56.0MB RAM.
Unfortunately I?m not experienced with computers or computer jargon and am hoping that someone can help solve this problem.
Yours

Mal.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: USB2 letting me down
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: USB2 letting me down
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.