PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Upgrading: Is The Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB Good 4 RAID

by champmanfan / June 12, 2005 5:15 AM PDT

I'm a newbie to setting up RAID and need help.

I current using a MS 6741 motherboard with capabilities for SATA RAID and I think I have found the best drive (speed+size+quiet+price) for my gaming rig. I've read Toms Hardware review for the Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB SATA and it looks a good choice but I need another opinion, please!

I was having huge doubts over the speed potiental of SATA compared to my current 2x200GB IDE hard drives. They are Western Digital Caviar WD20000 BB-98DWAO. Using HD Tach 3.0.1.0 I got the following benchmark results: random access 13.8, CPU utilization 2%, average read 40.6Mb/s, burst speed 77.3Mb/s.

I read a bit about SATA, but if someone could run HD Tach on their SATA RAID-0 system and post their results, i'll see what the differences are. The Barracuda 7200.8 had a burst speed of 126Mb/s with NCQ disabled, although the reviewer didn't mention if this test was based on a RAID-0 system.

Is a MS 6741 motherboard easy to set up RAID and what essential steps should I take?

I've found the best price of a Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB to be at ebuyer.com of just

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Upgrading: Is The Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB Good 4 RAID
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.