Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Updating Windows XP service Pack...HELP!

by bunniegirl / January 1, 2010 2:47 AM PST

Greetings board. I need to update hubbies computer's OS. I have not done an update in a very long time...as it recommends to backup my system before the download. I have no idea what that is...how to do it...and what would happen if I failed. SO the windows is outdated...(we have had two virus's this year-not sure if that is pertinent). The service pack number is KB936929. Any advice? What does backup system mean? And since I am a novice, how do I know I backed everything important to safety?

Also, we have a USB flashdrive that we think may be infected. It has a ton of valuable info on it. Can I risk opening it on the computer? Is there some way to harvest the data and transfer it safely to another medium?

I think the last virus we got...new years eve is correlated to the USB useage done that day. Is that possible?

Sorry this thread question is so vast...any help on any point would be so appreciated.

Happy New Year Cnet! Woo Hoo.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Updating Windows XP service Pack...HELP!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Updating Windows XP service Pack...HELP!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.