Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Update/Driver Issues ( Black Screen )

by Eurytus / July 16, 2010 3:12 PM PDT

I have recently been posed with a problem on my main computer. I am running Windows Vista Premium 32bit, and I am having some serious issues. I have been running the computer for about 3-4 years now, and never had this problem, but recently an updated driver/update shot my computer to hell. The problem is, when I am downloading some Windows Updates, my computer is not able to start regularly after the update. It will load up, and after the Windows Loading Screen, it will not show a black screen, not refreshing the video card and showing the mouse. It will just stay on the black screen, until I restart the computer. But, it will run in Safe Mode just fine. It will not allow me to login after some updates. I have had to recover my drive to get it to actually login regularly. I thought it was the hard-drive, so when I first found out the problem, I just hit my computer with a System Recovery, but I am still having the same issues. And most of the time, after I am done doing the updates that will work, it will show that the updates were not configured correctly, and it will revert the changes. I cannot download DirectX, or my graphics card, because once I do so, it will not reload after, and I have to recover to before I did it. I am working with a nearly fresh Vista right now ( Used the Recovery Disc after the problem started, as I said earlier. ) and it is still not working. I have been working on this problem for a few days now, and figured I would try to take my slave drive and give that a shot. Well, I am still having the same problem. I just downloaded 92 updates and it will not let me start Vista normally. I can only get it to start up in Safe Mode. Windows StartUp Repair has said that it was due to a bad driver, but the only thing that I have installed on it, was the Qwest 802AIN, which is for my wireless internet. Other than that, I am using a