Linux forum

General discussion

Ubuntu 10.04 Drivers for a homemade computer

by Elljl / August 1, 2010 7:29 AM PDT

Hi, I am looking to build a computer with the following parts:

-AMD Athlon II X3 445 Rana 3.1GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor ADX445WFGMBOX

-Western Digital Caviar Blue WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

-Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT2KIT12864BA1339

-GIGABYTE GA-880GA-UD3H AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

-SeaSonic S12II 330 Bronze 330W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

-ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

I am just hoping to make sure that all these parts would work with Ubuntu 10.04, since I have never used Ubuntu before, and don't want to pay for Windows 7. Should Ubuntu come with the necessary drivers, or will it download them automatically, or will I have to get by with generic drivers until I can find Linux drivers for each part? I want to save the money spent on Windows 7 for a monitor, and my budget already is $750-$800 CAD. If any of the parts won't work, could you please recommend a similarly priced product that is? Thanks in advance.

*NOTE* All parts are from Newegg Canada.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Ubuntu 10.04 Drivers for a homemade computer
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates