General discussion

Two Issues with new Compaq Presario

I have 2 two-week old Presario Model # of mine is: Compaq Presario CQ61-411WM Notebook PC. Mine is the one with major issues. There are several threads about this but I cannot find specific help with my type. My puter was fine until one morning I turned it on, everything powered up like normal but then shut right back off and would not respond again; no lcd lights, nothing. It didn't matter whether it was on battery (fully charged) or adapter. HP Support was no help. What should I do? Also my daughter's touchpad is not working right. When she powers up and clicks on her username everything's fine. But after she's logged on she can only scroll up and down but to click on anything she has to use the left clicker thingee. Sorry, I'm not very technical. Please help. Thank you very much.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Two Issues with new Compaq Presario
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Two Issues with new Compaq Presario
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
At 2 weeks.

This is like a new car. Most of us will not take a new car to our mechanic but back to the dealer or maker.

I strongly suggest you exercise the warranty.

- Collapse -
At Two Weeks