Linux forum

General discussion

TV and All-in-Wonder - ATI

I have a pretty standard desktop with mostly plug-and-play linux software except my ATI vid card. It's an All-in-Wonder and it's just terrible in linux. Don't get me wrong, the card works well if you don't want the AIW features, but you're asking for trouble if you want the TV to work.

I've gone through TONS of docs and DAYS of man hours trying to get the TV(input) to work under a half dozen distributions, but to no avail.

It's an AiW 9600, so it's not new at all, but it's a heck of a card and Linux is a heck of an OS. Together, they make a heck a headache, though.

Everything points to GATOS, but I can't get it right(and I'm no newbie at linux). Does anyone have a secret to tell about the AiW? Does anyone have the card working AT ALL under Linux.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: TV and All-in-Wonder - ATI
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: TV and All-in-Wonder - ATI
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.