Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Tutorial for reinstalling Windows XP?

by grande351 / December 15, 2008 4:38 AM PST

I have had a virus or malware attack that has seriously messed up my computer. It's looking like I'm going to have to "blow it up" and start over by clearing everything and re-installing windows. Is there a good online tutorial that would take me through the process step by step? I'm by no means a computer expert, but I think I can do it with some guidance. I'm in the process of saving all of my documents, music and photos to a USB HD.
How do I save the programs that I've installed over time? My computer is a Dell and it's 4 or 5 years old. I believe I have all of the discs that came with it, but do not have discs for some software, (Microsoft Excel, Picture-it...etc) as well as programs I've downloaded (Bulk Image Downloader, Flashget,...etc).

How do I save the internet favorites and e-mail settings for the three users that use this computer? If I save the documents and settings for each, how can I be sure these, or any other files, haven't been contaminated or corrupted in some way?

How do I deal with my music and itunes? I know right now, if I move any music folders out of "My Music" to another location itunes can't find it. I've heard about consolidating my library, but I'm not sure how to do it. I have over 7000 songs On my ipod and I don't want to lose them!

Thanks! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Tutorial for reinstalling Windows XP?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates