General discussion

Tufenuf....will that link you gave fix this problem?

Missing file
by Graeme Tearle - 4/14/10 5:10 PM

When I boot up my XP powered ASUS laptop, I get an error message box:-

"C:\WINDOWS\svchost.exe

Windows cannot find C:\WINDOWS\svchost.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly and then try again. To search etc........"

Clicking "OK" reveals another box:-

"Desktop.

Could not load or run C:\Windows\svchost.exe specified in the registry. Make sure the file exists or remove the reference in the registry."

Clicking "OK" continues to a successful bootup. It's not a major problem, just a nuisance, but I would like to fix it.

Please be very specific, I'm new at this.

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Tufenuf....will that link you gave fix this problem?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Tufenuf....will that link you gave fix this problem?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Tufenuf....will that link you gave fix this problem?

Bump

- Collapse -
Someone else had same issue heres a link
- Collapse -
Re: Tufenuf....will that link you gave fix this problem?

Graeme Tearle, I have no idea of which link or fix you're talking about.

Tufenuf

- Collapse -
LEts take a quick look