Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

Troubles with html language that I didn't insert............

by MarDel53 / May 31, 2008 8:56 PM PDT

I have been maintaining a web site through geocities-pro since 2005 and have never had this trouble until yesterday. I am running Windows XPservice pack 2; and use IE-7.
I decided to change the background on my main page and change the midi file too. I recently upgraded to Windows media player 11.
Yesterday, everything was going fine until (I think-not sure) I made windows media player my default player.
Now when I click on any of my sites with midi files, the files will not play and after right clicking on the page I noticed the following has been inserted on every page that has midi files:

<!-- following code added by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
<!-- preceding code added by server. PLEASE REMOVE -->
<bgsound src="Sounds/toottoot.mid" loop="infinite">

and I am hoping for an answer/I connect to the Internet via roadrunner and they claim it is not them.
Also, in my file manager program where the midis are uploaded....I click on view all the time after the upload to be sure they play and they do. But as soon as I insert them into the web with the correct html procedure, they do not play on my computer like they use to do. However, when I use someone else's computer who is also connected with roadrunner the files play correctly.
I am thinking it is has to be the media player upgrade and now how do I change this?
Any help here would certainly be appreciated.

Discussion is locked
Collapse -
The 2 uppermost lines ...