PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Trouble with DVD burn speeds

by msd2 / October 29, 2005 9:44 AM PDT

I am pretty new to this stuff so I am hoping someone is able to help me out with my problem. I recently installed a new dvd burner into my system and while it does a good job of making backups the speed leaves something to be desired. When it first starts to burn it will go up to 3x speed but quickly drop then level off to around 1.6. Doesnt matter if its DL discs or single layer, and I have tried different brands of media. I did change it from being the slave drive to the master on the second ide but it didnt change anything at all. Here is all the info that I can think of that might be useful

Programs used:dvd decrypter and dvd shrink
DVD burner: BenQ 1640
CD-R: 48X
CD-ROM Access Time: 120ms
CD-RW: 32X
DVD+R: 16X
DVD+R DL: 8X
DVD+RW: 8X
DVD-R: 16X
DVD-ROM Access Time: 120ms
DVD-RW: 6X

computer: 750mb ram, 2.6 pentium, 40gb ibm drive.

could it be the hd? i think it is my systems weakest link.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Trouble with DVD burn speeds
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Trouble with DVD burn speeds
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.