Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

Trj/Reboot.F Virus blocking my McAfee Download

I have had a lot of computer problems lately and had to reinstall Windows ME. After reinstalling I went to McAfee.com where I have a subscription to download and re-install McAfee due to a prompt I received. I cannot get any downloads to take place. It acts as if it is going to download but then the computer freezes and is non-responsive. I verified the virus Trj/Reboot.F using PC Pitstop's free scan but they don't offer a way to disinfect it! The virus is located in C\HP\BIN\Rebooter.exe I still have the virus and no way to remove it because my McAfee doesn't work now. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Trj/Reboot.F Virus blocking my McAfee Download
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Trj/Reboot.F Virus blocking my McAfee Download
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -