Cameras forum

General discussion

Tripod for Canon SD630

I'm hoping someone here could suggest a good tripod for me, or at least steer me in the right direction. I will be taking indoor photos of silk floral arrangements ranging from about 12" to 60" high.

Is there a tripod for ultra compact digital cameras that's not a "tabletop" tripod? A tripod that folds very compactly, yet extends to 5 feet and weighs less than 2 lbs.?

I've read pages of tripod specs online but I'm really an amateur, and don't understand some of the terms. I have no idea if I would want a ballhead as adversed to a pan/tilt. What is a 3-way pan/tilt, and what is a quick lock ballhead? I have an Ambico V-0555 tripod that my husband handed down to me when I got my old Mavica MVC-CD200. I now need at tripod that will travel compactly.

I would like the tripod to have a small quick release plate (very small like the size of the one on the gorillapod), but it's not absolutely necessary.

The tripod needn't support over 2 lbs, as the SD630 is the only camera I'll use with it. I think I'd like twist lock legs as they seem take up less space than the flip lever legs when folded. But can twist lock legs be partially extended?

I was looking at the Velbon Ultra MAXi-S, but I was hoping for more height than 48 inches. I wonder why their PH-243 compact ball head has been discontinued. I was also looking at the Sunpak DigiPro Compact B and the Digipro Ballhead, but the heads look so large in the online pics. Sunpack has a Compact Ball Head, but I don't know if I could change the head on a DigiPro. Again, I was looking for more height. The National Geographic Tundra with ballhead and quick release looks good, but has those flip lever legs. Nothing quite seems to fit what I'm envisioning...

Maybe there is no such tripod because it's impractical? Or, maybe I need to buy legs and a separate head? I wouldn't even know where to start with that.