Computer Help forum

General discussion

transfering files from exturnal hard drive to new computer

Greetings,
My daughters gateway laptop died,I took the hard drive out and put it into a 2.5,usb exturnal hard drive.The old computer had Windows XP,the new computer has Vista.The exturnal hd has music,(I Tunes),Photo's, and Doc's.My question is, once I have the ext.hd identified on the new computer,what do I actully have to do to find the stuff I want to transfer? I have never done this before, and just need a little guidance...All help is appreciated.W

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: transfering files from exturnal hard drive to new computer
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: transfering files from exturnal hard drive to new computer
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re: transferring files

In reply to: transfering files from exturnal hard drive to new computer