Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

Question

Total beginner question on how to proceed with project

by jla310 / December 20, 2013 12:10 AM PST

I am a teacher in an elementary school. I am looking to create a web-based storytelling/creating program to use with my students, something very similar to http://www.littlebirdtales.com This program has been redesigned and isn't useful for my students anymore. I can't find a replacement that fulfills all my needs, so I thought to myself..."maybe I can learn to create what I want." I have done web design using Joomla, but I'm no programmer. However, I'm a pretty quick learner with computer skills. I know the Little Bird Tales is flash-based, but it would be better if I used something else. Would Java be the alternative or some other language? Any suggestions on where I could go to learn how to do this (I realize it will be a challenge!) Or is there a good way to find a developer who could create what I want (for very little money!)

I'd love advice on what steps I need to take.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Total beginner question on how to proceed with project
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Total beginner question on how to proceed with project
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.