Question

Toshiba Satellite Laptop A505 S6005 Memory Low

Hi,
I have an older Toshiba Satellite Laptop A505 S6005. I continually get the low memory warnings and I just tried to download Norton AntiVirus and it said I did not have enough space. I am not very good with the computers. I tried doing what I saw about changing something with a program or page size to custom that was on the internet to fix it and it would not let me. I went to Crucial.com and ran the scan they offer on my computer. It showed that I need more ram, I have 4 and it said to go to 8. I have 2 slots at 2 gb each and I should go to 2 at 4gb each. I watched a video and I can change that. It also says that I have Storage: SATA 2 - 3Gb/s and it is 99% full. I am not good at computer stuff so I am hoping that someone can help me with this. It listed the compatible ram and also the compatible SSD's. Do I really need to do both or would just doing one work? If so which or if both even tho it lists many compatible SSD's I really do not know what to get. When it listed compatible RAM it list 2gb which I need really 4gb so I am worried something on the compatible list could be like what I already have and useless. I prefer not to take my computer someplace, something always goes wrong and it is always a nightmare. I think I can watch a youtube video for these things as it seems straightforward. Can anyone please give me a little guidance in plain english on what would work. Also it says on Crucials report chipset intel 5 if that is of any use.
Thanks!!

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Toshiba Satellite Laptop A505 S6005 Memory Low
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Toshiba Satellite Laptop A505 S6005 Memory Low