HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

General discussion

Too many options!

by princesspink22 / September 17, 2009 6:36 AM PDT

I'm a college student in my Senior year who stage manages for our mainstage productions. I've found that I've been carrying my Macbook Pro around a lot-- and it's heavy!

Given this new trend for netbooks, I thought I'd look into getting one to make my life a little easier not only during rehearsal, but during class as well (I have a learning difference that makes taking notes by hand a chore).

After looking around (and being defrauded) I have decided to ask the experts what would be best for me. I do know something about computers, thank God, so I'm not completely helpless, just overwhelmed.

Here's what I'd like:

--Really small, preferably nothing with a larger than 7" screen. I know I'm sacrificing a large keyboard, but I have thin fingers and an iPhone, so I think I'll be okay
--Good battery life. I'd like a 6-cell battery, but I could most certainly deal with a 3- or 4-cell
--A nice amount of harddrive space. I'm not too picky when it comes to SSD or HDD, even though I know I should be, but I do need a good sized harddrive. I'd like something over 10 or 12 GB.
--Standard RAM. 512 MB would be fine, but nothing under
--A decent price tag. I know many companies are waiting for Intel's new processor, so they're dropping the prices. My budget is under $400, but I'd hope for something under $300.

Also, I hate Dell.

Thank you for helping me out!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Too many options!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates