General discussion

to build or to buy pre-made?

well, I have been thinking of this for some time now. I have never built a computer from the ground up before. I do know a little about them but not a lot. I would say I know more then a normal person but no were near what I would consider being good. either way I been saving up for some time now and been looking at buying a manufactured computer yet I'm not truly happy with anything I have seen, oh and I'm looking at spending about $600 - $1500.

first maybe I should start with some of the things I'm looking for in a computer. I'm not looking for a monster over-clocked high end gaming computer, yet I do want a computer that can handle what I can throw at it and time. both of my computer that I own today are about 5 years old and was bought with out paying any attention to what I was getting. basically I'm looking for a computer to hook to my TV & stereo through HDMI, play and burn blue-rays or dvds, do basic art work, the only game own and would love to play is my doom 3 which none of my computers can play even on the lowest settings.( I know the game is old by now but I still love the game and I play most of my games on a PS3). I would like it to be able to handle running a few programs at once and for it to have a good modem. sorry I must sound like a newbie that is why I'm posting in the newbie section ^_^ I wish I could spit out the best types of ram and motherboard and number yet I don't have that much time to really look all that up and to compare parts that is why I never looked into building one before. which brings me to my next point