Cameras forum

General discussion

Time Lapse with Sony DSC-f505v

by joeghal87 / May 16, 2009 6:15 AM PDT

Hello everyone,

i would like to know if there is a program on pc able to perform automatic successive shots (for time lapse) for the Sony DSC-f505v
Since this camera doesnt do it alone, it would be great if there was a software to perform that !

Thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Time Lapse with Sony DSC-f505v
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Time Lapse with Sony DSC-f505v
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Sony F505V
by snapshot2 Forum moderator / May 16, 2009 9:10 AM PDT

That camera dates back to the year 2000.
For a camera of that era, it has all the bells and whistles.

But it does not have time lapse capabilities.

I don't know of any time lapse software that will work with that camera.

..
.

Collapse -
Sony F505V
by joeghal87 / May 16, 2009 6:53 PM PDT
In reply to: Sony F505V

oh oki...thanks man for ur reply Happy

Collapse -
Let's say we don't restrict our thinking.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / May 16, 2009 9:36 PM PDT

Starting with http://www.dsi.unive.it/~marzolla/software/time_lapse_movies/ I would next see if this camera is on Gphoto2's list.

The list is at http://www.gphoto.org/proj/libgphoto2/support.php

And there I see a limitation. Almost all the DSCs are in PTP mode.

But this does not mean we are done yet. Your model is not on the list which does not mean it is not supported. It just means that no one tried it.

Failing all that, why not a mechanical solution?
Bob

Collapse -
Expanding thinking
by snapshot2 Forum moderator / May 16, 2009 11:45 PM PDT

If you don't limit your thinking, there is another method.

Set the camera to about 1024 by 768 pixels.

Mount your camera on a tripod and take a picture at any interval of time.

(Since your camera does not have a time lapse feature, you will manually press the shutter button for each frame.)

If you want a video of 30 frames per second you will take 300 pictures to get 10 seconds of video.

Put all the pictures in a folder on your computer.

Next, download and run the free program, PhotoLapse:

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,77705-order,3/description.html

Set the FPS (frames per second) to 30 and click "Create Movie".

You can set the compression to whatever you want, or leave it at "full frame".

Click OK.

Wait for the program to finish.

You will get a high quality .avi video.

..
.

Collapse -
Thanks
by joeghal87 / May 17, 2009 1:05 AM PDT
In reply to: Expanding thinking

R.Proffitt and snapshot2 thanks a lot for your replies !

To R.Proffitt : i'll try the program and see if it works..i hope it does !

To snapshot2 : yes i have thought about the mechanical solution that u are proposing, but that will be the last choice ! I have a laptop and i can take it with me anywhere, so if i can do all this work automatically, why using mechanical Happy ?

Popular Forums
icon
Computer Newbies 10,686 discussions
icon
Computer Help 54,365 discussions
icon
Laptops 21,181 discussions
icon
Networking & Wireless 16,313 discussions
icon
Phones 17,137 discussions
icon
Security 31,287 discussions
icon
TVs & Home Theaters 22,101 discussions
icon
Windows 7 8,164 discussions
icon
Windows 10 2,657 discussions

CNET FORUMS TOP DISCUSSION

Help, my PC with Windows 10 won't shut down properly

Since upgrading to Windows 10 my computer won't shut down properly. I use the menu button shutdown and the screen goes blank, but the system does not fully shut down. The only way to get it to shut down is to hold the physical power button down till it shuts down. Any suggestions?