General discussion

Tied between two laptops

Hello, I'm a 26 year old student and I decided to purchase a laptop. I purchased a Toshiba A665-S6086 laptop and so far I love it for the two days I have owned it. I was also looking at a HP dv7-4165dx laptop as well. I mainly use a computer for internet searching and school work which consists of using word, excel and powerpoint. My question is, has anyone had good and or bad luck with a Toshiba? I have only owned HP and I thought I would give Toshiba a shot. Also, they offered me an extended warranty and declined it. Stupid of me to do? Thanks everyone!

Doug

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Tied between two laptops
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Tied between two laptops
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
The dv7 is unsuitable for most students.

It's too big, too bendy and my outlook is that you would be lucky for it to last 2 years given it's build. The reason why bendy is bad has been discussed but I think it's worth noting again by writing "Pb free means lower ductile strength."

Your selected Tosh is a very nice i3 16 inch machine. At the edge of what many accept to be a machine for mobile use (ie students) but no doubt I will pick this over the dv7.

Bob

PS. We own a dv7 that is used as a desktop. It is not a laptop.

- Collapse -