Laptops forum

General discussion

ThinkPad T60 9-cell expected battery life

by rkalla / August 15, 2006 12:33 PM PDT

Hey guys, here's my current situation: I bought a MacBook Pro in the craze to get one like everyone else; my first laptop. After having it for a few months I realized the short (2.5hrs) battery life is driving me crazy, I feel like I'm being cheated out of the purchase since dragging my charger around behind me and getting 2-2.5hrs of life out of this thing before it dies is hardly "mobile" in my eyes. (Even though my other mobile friends say that kind of battery life is normal)

Anyway, I started to look at new notebooks and really think the ThinkPad T60 fits the bill for me. I am a Java software developer, so a relatively high screen resolution (for an IDE) and fast process/lots of ram are important. The Core Duo chips are certainly fast enough that I don't need to max the chip out, but probably keep it around 2Ghz or something. Also I noticed that the T60 offers a 1600x1200 15" screen, I worry this might be too small DPI for me and make it hard for reading, so the 1400x1050 resolution is probably just fine.

The real question for me that I cannot find out from reading all the online reviews of the laptop is the actual expected battery life using the 9-cell battery and doing things like browsing the web, doing email, listening to music and watching short little YouTube movies (my real test case is coding Java, but I think the load on the computer is equivalent to what I mentioned above when factoring in the audio decoding and video decoding).

I posted what I currently found out on my blog here:
http://www.breakitdownblog.com/2006/08/15/lenovo-thinkpad-t60-battery-life-35-or-9-hours/