Laptops forum

The perfect laptop for around £1000 / $1500?

by talexe / September 21, 2011 11:59 AM PDT

Hello everyone! I'm looking for a laptop to take with me to university. After taking a bit of time researching the current options (including those to be released over the next month or so), I started to wonder whether I could get my perfect laptop for my budget, or whether I'd have to go higher. To illustrate, two laptops I'm looking at at the moment are the as-yet unreleased 15.5 inch Sony Vaio S Series and Samsung Series 7 Chronos.

This is my specification wish list - it isn't comprehensive because I'm not a tech expert, so any pointers would be appreciated! By the way, if you'd rather not find specific laptops for me, could you maybe point me in the direction of a site where I can chuck in some specifications and find matching laptops?

Budget: about 1000 GBP with some flexibility (approx. 1550 USD) Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit Display: 14" to 15.6", 1920 x 1080, matte or otherwise anti-reflective
CPU: 2nd Generation Intel Core i5/i7 GPU: Discrete GPU; no high-end gaming, so requirements not high.
Memory: At least 4GB DDR3 Optical: Blu-Ray reader Storage: SSD, low capacity is fine
Connectivity: 802.11n Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
Multimedia: At least 1.3MP integrated webcam
Nice touchpad and keyboard - multi-touch and similar not necessary. Battery: The more, the better! I don't want to be tethered to the wall. Also, the lighter the better, though I can live with a bit of bulk.

I can provide more information if you like. Any help would be very much appreciated - thank you!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: The perfect laptop for around £1000 / $1500?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates