Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Speakeasy forum

General discussion

The biggest con job in the history of man

by critic411 / December 14, 2008 9:11 PM PST
http://www.sunjournal.com/story/295647-3/Columnist/The_biggest_con_job_in_the_history_of_man/

"Be skeptical about global warming and you're branded with a scarlet "D" for "Denier." Say global warming is a crock, and you are shunned at parties.

I'm an environmentalist, like most in Maine, but I'm not an environmental zealot.

Because I'm also an economist and a professional business analyst. From these perches, I can see policies that purport to fix global warming - like cap and trade taxes, and legislation that enacts them, like the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative or the federal Climate Security Act - as pernicious and corrupting ideas in the arena of business and politics.

They're elegant con jobs, which turn junk science into major dollars for developers.

People like former governor Angus King and energy expert Matt Simmons are smart. They see the global warming rainbow coming and are placing their pots at the end of it."

"It all boils down to one question.

Why should we pay so much, trying to stop a natural event?
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: The biggest con job in the history of man
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates