Question

Systemversion.plist - disabled many programs

Hello friends,

My situation:

I edited the systemversion.plist file in core services on MAC in order to run an update for pro tools software, now many of my programs are not recognized. I edited the plist back to original OS version I am running, but still programs Are not recognized. Including time machine.

Cannot backup as result, do not have original install disk

Running os x Sierra 10 13 2


Included text shows current status of systemversion.plist file, which I edited back to reflect my current OS high Sierra

Previously changed system version to 10.9 so Protools update could run

Anyone know wth is going on? Lol

I would definitely Appreciate your help
Táputni
Tim LittleHawk Blanchette


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">


<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>ProductBuildVersion</key>
<string>17C88</string>
<key>ProductCopyright</key>
<string>1983-2017 Apple Inc.</string>
<key>ProductName</key>
<string>Mac OS X</string>
<key>ProductUserVisibleVersion</key>
<string>10.13.2</string>
<key>ProductVersion</key>
<string>10.13.2</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Systemversion.plist - disabled many programs
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Systemversion.plist - disabled many programs
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Clarification Request
Also enabled/disabled ...

Upon startup, entered recovery mode, and changed from default setting I forget whether I enabled or disabled this function...

Utilities - terminal
Csrutilxstatus
Disable
Sync; reboot

Then I edited the systemversion.plist
Then I attempted to install the pro tools

- Collapse -
Just an idea.

Never do that. And try another user account. I've seen stuff like this royally mess up the OS.

My only idea is another user account.

Protools looked to have a version for Sierra but I did find discussions about this edit. Sounds like a mess.

- Collapse -
User account

Does that mean I would lose everything?

- Collapse -
Not yet.

Another user account is simply to see if there is hope in gleaning a working file for you to use in the account you broke. That is, if the damage is limited to the account.

- Collapse -
Answer
Thank....Chris!

CNET Forums