Mac OS forum

General discussion

Switching to MAC

by FDV8 / June 22, 2009 10:17 PM PDT

I've already decided that I'm making the switch to a MAC I was wondering if there is any security software I would need. I know MAC's can't get viruses and all that but what about trojans, spyware, malware and adware. I'm a PC Technician and know the usual routine as far as Windows goes. I was wondering what precautions I should take in regards as to keeping my MAC clean and in tip top shape? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Switching to MAC
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Switching to MAC
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Switching to Mac
by jedirock / June 23, 2009 3:18 AM PDT
In reply to: Switching to MAC

Right now, I think most people don't run their Macs with any kind of anti-virus. The only one I do know for OS X is ClamXAV, so you could take a look into that.