Auto Repair - Roadshow forum

General discussion

Suggestions/help for a portable GPS car navigator?

Well, I'm trying to do some research on the different GPS systems out there but there are so many brands and models that I do not know where to begin.

Basically what I'm looking for is something portable to use while driving. Something that will keep me up to date on maybe an accident or congestion up ahead during my commute that might help me find an alternate route but still get me to my final destination. It will be on my dashboard and since I live in Miami, FL it will by sunny so this may be a factor with the screen.

As a college student, I can't be spending an insane amount of money on this thing so something affordable.

Something that is quick and easy to put in information, such as begin and start locations. Rather than going menu after menu after menu...

Something that will tell me straight forward where I need to go and turn. Telling me street names or numbers coming up that will tell me where to turn would help rather than having to guess how much 20 kilometers is while I'm driving on a busy road and then turn at that point. Not sure if there's something out there like this but if so please tell me.

Also I'm not too familiar with this but I'm guessing that you need to pay for a service in order to get this to work for you? How does this work? What services are out there? Are they fairly cheap or expensive? What do they offer?

As many may know, not only are there different brands out there but tons of model versions as well. Which one would be right for me?

Any information that you can give me then please feel free to let me know since I'm new at this whole GPS thing. Thank you so much for any help.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Suggestions/help for a portable GPS car navigator?