Computer Help forum

General discussion

Subfolders vanished

Hello, I'm not very good with computers, and mine already has so many problems as it is, however, I've encountered one that I'm having trouble finding help for online.

Yesterday, I went into this folder I have that has a bunch of subfolders where I keep my videos, music, pictures, etc. When I went into the folder, nothing was there. I went back and tried going into it again, thinking maybe there was some loading issue, but no: the folders inside were gone. I went back and hovered over the folder and it said "Folder is Empty." I panicked, because that folder holds nearly all of my stuff. I used the Search function to look for some specific files that were in those folders, and came up with nothing. Now, I was really freaked, and could feel that cold dread coming over me. However, I then noticed that how much free space was left on the drive hadn't changed, which would be odd if the folders were deleted, since they contained something like 30 GBs of stuff. I ran through some other folders to see if they were moved for some unknown reason, but found nothing.

Eventually, I opened up a media player and played the most recent video, which makes its home in one of those folders. It played. I then went to browse through the movies folder it came from, and there it was... I opened up My Computer and typed in the direct address for some of the folders, and it'd bring me to them each time (however, I can't seem to find my pictures folder, and half the folders I can't remember the name of). I can get to them by typing in their exact folder path, but the folder they're all in doesn't show that it has anything... I asked some people and they mentioned that the folders might be Hidden, so I tried making the folders Hidden, then unhiding them, but nothing would happen.