Laptops forum

General discussion

Student/Gamer looking for suggestions

by Jadin101 / July 11, 2005 9:02 AM PDT

Well, my desktop is 5 years old, on hard drive #2, and has started the corruption dance. It's time for a new one!

Well, I'm a Masters Student (Chemistry), a novice gamer, and I dable in photoshop, and I'm looking for some suggestions for laptops.

What's important:
- Graphics
- Price (should be less than $2000 US/$2500)
- Available in Canada
- Battery life (should be reasonable)

What's not important:
- Weight (to a degree)
- Hard Drive space, since I plan to put up a fileserver at home.

Anyone have any suggestions for me to look at? I was looking at a model of the Compaq nx6125 that has something like 1024MBX1 DDR, but I'm open to any suggestions.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Student/Gamer looking for suggestions
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Student/Gamer looking for suggestions
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -