General discussion

Streaming via Internet vs. DVD Playback

So I am a little new to the details of computer hardware and processing. I recently dusted off an old PC (I'm a Mac these days) and am interested in making it a media center. Mainly I want to stream video from the internet via Hulu and the like.

My ultimate question is what differences are there, if any, between streaming video from the internet vs. playing video from DVD?

The reason I ask is when I watch a DVD in full screen mode (42-inch LCD) the picture is fantastic. Very good quality and not choppy at all. However, when I stream video via the internet, the quality goes down and is very choppy. Now, I know there are more variables like how good my internet connect is and what site I am on and such. So to compare I'll do the same thing with my Mac. Let's say for argument sake and all else equal, the quality from my Mac is much better than my PC. I recently upgraded the RAM to 4GB and the video card to a Radeon HD 4650 with no improvement. So, the only thing left is my CPU (which I know is terrible.)

So, does streaming via internet us more CPU resources than watching from a DVD?

- Jason

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Streaming via Internet vs. DVD Playback
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Streaming via Internet vs. DVD Playback
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.