Computer Help forum

General discussion

Strange mouse behavior

Running Win2k, all the latest fixes on a 'frankenstein' with Pentium 2.6gHz processor, lotsa disk and 512 Mb memory and a MS optical mouse, I have a customer with a really strange mouse activity problem. It seems that if any program pops up a window that requires a mouse click, the window closes if that window is outside the boundries of the original program window. Sometimes, it is even the same area as the original. I have talked w/ Intuit (Quicken 2004) about the problem and they say it is a setting in the machine, not a problem with their program. I have looked all through the registry and the docs I have with no reference to this mouse activity. It is not the property that causes the mouse to jump to the 'default' in a message box. Has anyone seen this before?? I have been chasing this for about 2 months now and have no idea where to look next.

Thanks..

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Strange mouse behavior
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Strange mouse behavior
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.